PARISH DIARY 

2007


GO TO CURRENT MONTH

NEWSLETTER


 

 


JANUARY


07 January, Sunday, all Masses, St. Raphael's Church

►celebrating the Feast of the Epiphany of 6 January


10 January, Wednesday,  10.00 am

►Building Planning Application Appeal (venue to be announced in due course)


19 January, Friday, 11.00 am, St. Joseph's School

School Mass


21 January, Sunday, 3.00 pm to 5. pm

St. Raphael's Senior Citizens' Party for the community of Kingston and Surbiton


FEBRUARY


02 February, Friday, Raven's Ait, River Thames, Surbiton

St. Raphael's Winter Ball


16 February, Friday, 11.00 am, St. Joseph's School

School Mass in preparation for Lent


21 February, Wednesday 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

Ash Wednesday


28 February, Wednesday 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

Mass for healing and in preparation for the diocesan consultation: Towards a Vision for our Diocese


MARCH


03 March, Friday, 7.00 pm, St. Joseph's School

►Bingo Bonanza and Pizza Evening (or bring your own food)

►Bring your own refreshments


05 March, Monday, 7.30 pm, Alexander House

►Archbishop's consultation meeting: Towards a Vision for our Diocese - Growing in Communion


12 March, Monday, 7.30 pm, Alexander House

►Archbishop's consultation meeting: Towards a Vision for our Diocese - Reaching out in Mission


16 March, Friday, 11.00 am, St. Joseph's School

School Mass for St. Patrick's Day on 17 March


19 March, Monday, 7.30 pm, Alexander House

►Archbishop's consultation meeting: Towards a Vision for our Diocese - Facing the future


APRIL



HOLY WEEK


01 April, Sunday

Palm Sunday ceremonies


05 April, Thursday, 8.00 pm

Maundy Thursday: Solemn Mass of the Lord's Supper


06 April, Friday

Stations of the Cross, 10.00 am

Good Friday: 3.00 pm, Solemn Liturgy, Reading of the Passion, Veneration of the Cross, Holy Communion

Stations of the Cross and Veneration of the relic of the True Cross, 8.00 pm


07 April, Saturday, 8.00 pm

Holy Saturday: Vigil Mass of the Resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ


08 April, Sunday, Mass at 9.30 am, 11.30 am, 5.00 pm

Easter Sunday ceremonies


See Newsletter for more information


 

15 April, Sunday, St. Raphael's Church, 3.00 pm

Divine Mercy Sunday - Divine Mercy Devotions at 3.00 pm (Confessions from 2.30 pm)



MAY


13 May, Sunday, 2.30 pm, in the grounds of St. Raphael's Church

►Our Lady's Procession


14 May, Monday, 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

Parish Council Meeting


20 May, Ascension Sunday

Celebrating the feast of the Ascension of Our Blessed Lord, Jesus Christ, Masses as usual


27 May, Sunday, St. Raphael's Church

Pentecost Sunday


JUNE


03 June, Sunday, St. Raphael's Church

9.00 am       -    Family Mass

11.30 am     -    First Holy Communion Mass

1.30 pm       -    Corpus Christi Procession

5.00 pm       -    Evening Mass


08 June, Friday, 7.30 pm, St. Joseph's School hall,

►Bingo Bonanza, to raise funds for the restoration of the church


10 June, Sunday, St. Raphael's Church

Feast of Corpus Christi (7 June) Holy Day of obligation; Masses

►Sunday Masses as normal


10 June, Sunday, 3.00 pm, Marymount School, Kingston upon Thames

Deanery Corpus Christi procession


13 June, Wednesday, 11.00 am, St. Joseph's School

School Mass


18 June, Monday, 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

Parish Council Meeting


28 June, Thursday, 7.30, St. Raphael's Church

Latin Mass - Eve of the Feast of SS Peter and Paul, fulfilling the Holy Day of Obligation


29 June, Friday

Feast of Saints Peter and Paul: Holy Day of obligation; Masses

10.00 am     -    St. Raphael's Church

7.30 pm       -    St. Raphael's Church


 


02 July, Monday, 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

Parish Council Meeting


08 July, Sunday, Ealing Abbey, 2.30 pm

►Ordination to the Sacred Priesthood of Dom Alexander Bevan OSB (St. Raphael's parishioner)


18 July, Wednesday, 11.00 am, St. Joseph's School

►School Mass for Year 6 leavers


29 July, Sunday, 6.00 pm

►St. Raphael's Annual Garden party


AUGUST


07 August, Friday, 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

►Parish Open Day as part of the National heritage Open Day Scheme (details to follow)


15 August, Tuesday

Feast of the Assumption of Our Lady

10.00 am     -    St. Raphael's Church

7.30 pm       -    St. Raphael's Church


31 August, Friday, 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

Songs for a Summer Evening - A concert in aid of church restoration: details to follow soon


SEPTEMBER


10 September, Monday, 7.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church

Parish Council Meeting


23 September, Sunday, 6.00 pm, St. Raphael's Church Garden

►Party to welcome new parishioners - all welcome


OCTOBER


30 September - 07 October

►Parish Pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela


NOVEMBER


01 November 2005, Thursday

Feast of All Saints; Holy Day of obligation; Masses at:

►7.30 pm Wednesday 31 October, fulfilling the obligation, St, Raphael's Church -  Latin Mass

►10.00 am     -    St. Raphael's Church

►11.00 am     -    St. Joseph's School

►7.30 pm       -    St. Raphael's Church


02 November, Wednesday, St. Raphael's Church

Feast of All Souls; Mass at

►10.00 am - Quiet Mass

►7.30 pm - Latin Mass


04 November, 2.00 pm Surbiton Cemetery, 3.00 pm Kingston Cemetery

►Blessing of graves


10 November, Saturday, 7.30, St. Raphael's Church

►Mass Remembering all those who have past away this year


12 November, Monday, 7.30, St. Raphael's Church, Benedict's Room

Parish Council meeting


11 November, Sunday

►Remembrance Sunday


18 November,  Sunday, 5.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church, Alexander House

► Curry Night - all welcome


25 November, Sunday, 3.00 pm, St. Raphael's Church, Alexander House

► Annual Parish Consultative meeting


 

 

 


DECEMBER

Cycle A

Season of Advent


01 December, Saturday, 1.00 - 4.00 pm, St. Joseph's Primary School, Kingston

►St. Raphael's Christmas Market


02 December, First Sunday of Advent Masses, St. Raphael's Church

►Start of new Church Year, Cycle A


08 December, Saturday

Feast of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary (not a holy day of obligation)

►10.00 am     -    St. Raphael's Church

►11.00 am     -    St. Joseph's School


09 December, Sunday, 11.30 am, St. Raphael's Church

►Sacrament of Confirmation, Bishop Paul Hendricks presiding


Date to be agreed in December , 7.30, St. Raphael's Church, Benedict's Room

Parish Council meeting


Date to be agreed in December, St. Raphael's Church

►Parish Penitential Service - Christmas Confession


CHRISTMAS SEASON


Date to be agreed, Sunday, 3.30 pm, St. Raphael's Church (3rd Sunday of Advent)

Christmas Carols and Spiritual Readings, followed by mulled wine and mince pies in Alexander House


19 December, Wednesday, 10.30 am, St. Raphael's Church

►St. Joseph's School Christmas Carols


24 December, Tuesday, St. Raphael's Church

Christmas Eve

6.00 pm      - Vigil Christmas Mass

11.30 pm   - Christmas Carols

Midnight     - Midnight Mass of the Nativity


25 December, Tuesday, St. Raphael's Church

Christmas Day

09.30 and 11.30 am  - Christmas Day Masses


26 December, Wednesday, St. Raphael's Church

►Feast of St. Stephen, the first martyr


 

Dates for next year - 2008

 

Senior Citizens' Party - Sunday 20 January, 3.00-5.00 pm

Winter Ball - Saturday 9 February, 6.00 pm to 11.30 pm

May Procession in honour of the Blessed Virgin Mary - 4 May, 4.00 pm

1st Holy Communion and Corpus Christi procession - Sunday, 18 May

Deanery Corpus Christi Procession - 8 June

 

Latin Masses in 2008: all at 7.30 pm on

Ash Wednesday 6 February

 Sacred Heart of Jesus 15 June

 Vigil of SS. Peter and Paul 28 June

Our Lady of Mount Carmel 16 July

Vigil of the Assumption 14 August

Vigil of All Saints 31 October

All Souls 2 November

The Immaculate Conception 8 December

 


 

 

Keep in step with the daily prayers and feasts of the Church calendar - please click here

Daily Readings from Scripture

The Liturgical Year


 

PREVIOUS YEAR